I believe in God because…

I like Pascals Wager: it’s just a good bet.

I was thinking the other day about “glove”. That was the mnemonic I used to remember a passing thought I had about “guilt” and “love”. Though I live a life often entrenched in guilt because I have not done the things and thought the thoughts that I should have, in reference to God and my spiritual existence, yet, the guilt I feel is a small price to pay. Materialists, atheists, would say I have wasted my life believing in a non-existent God and especially in suffering a sense of guilt for wrongs done. Even if God did not exist (but I stake my soul on it that He does) my life has been better for it: I have been more compassionate, understanding, patient, forgiving, loving, and a little better at all the spiritual fruits of the Spirit mentioned in Galatians 5:22. My life has been richer for it and other lives have been too.

To the atheists I say that their bet is not a good gamble: if there is no God they still lose because when they have died they have no existence wherein to gloat whereas if there is a God, the Christian will not gloat but still win the bet.

But in fact, God does exist. And His love has been far greater than my guilt. Now I embrace my guilt knowing that Gods forgiveness is infinite. If He can love me in spite of my failures, I cannot fail to love Him.

About jimd

Christian, ESL teacher, retired computer programmer, former US Army soldier, former Peace Corps Volunteer. Like to paint, build and fly rc airplanes, play guitar, ride unicycle, juggle, and hang out with my university students. Am currently residing in a foreign country but I do love America.
This entry was posted in religion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I believe in God because…

  1. Prasanna says:

    Aptly Said.

Leave a Reply

