Lighting EPP Wing with LED Lights

Put couple of LED one meter strings on my wing. Wow, very bright at night and dawn (totally ruins night sight). Much better than EL wire. My LED strings were 3 volt which posed a problem as I had to power them separately from my ESC battery but I had two small 1s lipos that are light and power the strings just fine. I tried using the 6 volts off the receiver but it almost killed my ESC – drew too many amps. I suppose 6 volt LEDs might work but could still draw too many amps. Other alternative is to use 12 volt LEDS and use ESC battery – probably the lightest solution and better if having more than 2 meters of LEDs.

I put the leds face down on the EPP so that they light up the wing more. Need to tape down the wires I guess for less drag. Very little weight added to the wing.

I bought my LED one meter strings (3528) for 11 rmb each (about 2 bucks) which is a whole lot cheaper than US prices that I have seen. Was worth the try. Guess I will keep them on the wing for a while and do some dawn flights since I go out running on the football field at that time anyway before the students start arriving for their runs.

Have a strange problem in that when I solder connectors to the strings and plug in the battery, only the green lights work. The red and yellow just blink on briefly and then go out. Guess the plug causes a touch too much resistance for the current my batteries are supplying (450mah). Not s
ure how I will get around this problem except with larger current batteries. Would be nice to have some other colors on the wing.

 

About jimd

Christian, ESL teacher, retired computer programmer, former US Army soldier, former Peace Corps Volunteer. Like to paint, build and fly rc airplanes, play guitar, ride unicycle, juggle, and hang out with my university students. Am currently residing in a foreign country but I do love America.
This entry was posted in aircraft, hobby, RC Aircraft, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

